Flip N’ Patties, filling the Filipino gap once in Houston’s food scene

by Local Houston Music

32367_495873267112696_1866850470_n

Houston has always been praised for its eclectic food scene. If there is a type of food you want, Houston probably has a restaurant for it. However, for a long time something was missing. Filipino food! Considering the number of Filipino people immigrating to the U.S. every year and the number of Filipino Americans living in Houston you would expect Filipino food to be pretty accessible, yet it couldn’t be found anywhere around town. As a half-Filipina this had been the source of some sadness and unsatisfied cravings for me. I would wait in anticipation all year for Christmas when I could finally visit my grandma and have her make me Filipino food. I would long for it all the rest of the year, but that all ended when Flip N’ Patties rose to the occasion. Flip N’ Patties is a Filipino food truck serving up the classic Pinoy street foods like lumpia, or for the gringos “flip rolls”, siopao, and halo halo!

It just brings joy to my heart. They also have a variety of juicy burgers and specialty fries made with Filipino ingredients. If that were not enough the truck is also fitted with state of the art karaoke monitors and microphones! They know their customer. It’s no wonder a crowd of loyal “flipsters” stalk the truck around town. It can usually be found outside Boomtown Coffee on 19th in the heights, or outside Buffalo Exchange on Westhiemer in Montrose, but it roams around bringing the flavorful goodness of Filipino to food to patrons all around Houston. Many people I have spoken to never had the opportunity to try food like this before the Flip N’ Patties truck went into business. My friends have heard me talk about Filipino food for years, but I had never been able to show them the food I was so in love with and missed so much.  Now, it’s something I enjoy with my friends and family. They have an official website, and are on twitter and facebook.

Official Website: www.flipnpatties.com

Twitter: (@flipnpatties) https://twitter.com/FlipnPatties

Facebook: www.facebook.com/FlipNPatties

Their whereabouts and schedule is posted regularly in all three places, but if you’re old school like my mom you can hit them up on the telephone too. Their number is (832) 409-7580. They can also be found through Roaming Hunger. Aside from the food truck deal they also cater. Where just a couple years ago Filipino food was pretty scarce in this city, Houston is now home to two Filipino food trucks: Flip N’ Patties and the Jeepney truck.

46724_531981850168504_486401827_nFnP_FlipFries

FnP_Burger_AmboyFnP_Siopao 644361_565848460115176_948618798_n

